إشعارات

  • لا يوجد إشعارات جديدة

     

الاستدامة

الاستدامة

نحو رؤية أكثر شمولاً للاستدامة

الالتزام بالريادة

“يسرني بالأصالة عن نفسي وبالنيابة عن إخواني أعضاء مجلس الإدارة وموظفينا، أن أعلن عن إصدار التقرير الأول الخاص بالاستدامة لبنك الكويت الوطني. فقد خطونا خطوة هامة إلى الأمام في تقييم ووصف الآثار المتعلقة بالاستدامة، المسؤولية الاجتماعية للبنك، السياسات والاستراتيجيات، فضلاً عن برامج ومبادرات التطوير والتحسين. 

وبالإضافة إلى تقديم بنك الكويت الوطني للخدمات المالية الأكثر تميزًا، فإننا نسعى جاهدين إلى تقديم مزايا اقتصادية واجتماعية وبيئية تعود بالفائدة على منطقتنا. ومن هذا المنطلق، فقد كرسنا أنفسنا لكي نرتقي في مجالات عدة أبرزها: الإبتكار، التنمية البشرية، الازدهار الاقتصادي، حماية بيئتنا وموظفينا من خلال تبني العديد من المبادرات الاجتماعية والعمل على بناء مجتمعات سليمة.

يواصل بنك الكويت الوطني تلبية الطلب المتنامي على مواكبة التغيير والتطور. حيث نقوم بإدخال عنصر التقدم التكنولوجي في منتجاتنا وخدماتنا وذلك لاقتناص فرص النمو الواعدة في الأسواق الناشئة. وبالإضافة إلى تطور الأعمال، نقوم بإتباع استراتيجيات لتطبيق الاستدامة في تقديم المنتجات، الخدمات، السياسات والممارسات الخاصة بالحوكمة ككل وذلك لمواكبة نمو البنك. كما ندرك تمامًا أن أصحاب المصالح يتوقعون الآن هذا التكامل في عملية الاستدامة”.


ناصـر مساعـد السـايــر
رئيس مجلس الإدارة
رئيس لجنة البنك والمجتمع

مراحل تطور تقارير وإفصاحات بنك الكويت الوطني المتعلقة بالاستدامة

على مدى 65 عامًا ومنذ بداية تأسيسه، حرص بنك الكويت الوطني على تناول وتغطية ممارسات الحوكمة والأداء المالي للبنك في تقريره السنوي. ومنذ عام 2008 ، بدأ بنك الكويت الوطني في نشر التقرير السنوي للمسؤولية الاجتماعية. وكانت تقارير المسؤولية الاجتماعية في الماضي تركز في المقام الأول على مبادراتنا المجتمعية في الكويت، بالإضافة إلى إبراز برامجنا البيئية الرئيسية. ونقوم اليوم بإصدار تقرير الاستدامة الخاص ببنك الكويت الوطني لعام 2016 والذي يمثل نهجًا جديدًا نحو قيامنا بإعداد تقرير أوسع نطاقًا يتناول التأثيرات والقضايا الاجتماعية والبيئية والفرص المتعلقة بالاستدامة والتي تعتبر مثار اهتمام أصحاب المصالح.

أصحاب المصالح والقضايا الجوهرية

إن أصحاب المصالح الرئيسيين في بنك الكويت الوطني يمثلون الموظفين، العملاء، المساهمين، المجتمع، المنظمات غير الحكومية، مختلف القطاعات والهيئات الصناعية، الموردين، الجهات الرقابية والحكومات. خلال تحديد القضايا الجوهرية التي تثير اهتمام بنك الكويت الوطني، قمنا بالاسترشاد برواد الاستدامة والمنافسين في منطقتنا، ودراسة مؤشرات ومقاييس الاستدامة المطبقة على الصعيد العالمي ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا، والاطلاع على المبادئ التوجيهية لإعداد تقارير الاستدامة الصادرة عن المبادرة العالمية لإعداد التقارير على نطاق القطاع المالي  (GRI).

نهج جديدة نحو الاستدامة

يتوقع أصحاب المصالح بالمجموعة أن تقوم الشركات التي تقدم الخدمات المصرفية والمالية بإدخال مفاهيم الاستدامة البيئية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية ضمن إدارة المخاطر وخيارات الاستثمار، وعروض المنتجات والخدمات، استهلاك الموارد والانبعاثات الناتجة عنها، تنمية الموارد البشرية، الأمن والسلامة، المشاركة الاجتماعية، سياسات وممارسات الحوكمة، فضلً عن الإفصاحات والتقارير المتعلقة بالحوكمة البيئية والاجتماعية وحوكمة الشركات. ويلتزم بنك الكويت الوطني بتطوير سياسات وممارسات الاستدامة لديه وإصدار تقارير أكثر شمولية حول تأثيره البيئي وماهية السياسات والممارسات الإدارية لديه، كما يلتزم بنشر ما يقوم به بأفضل طريقة ممكنة بجانب التزامه أيضًا بمواكبة الظروف المتغيرة والتوقعات الصارمة في هذا المجال.

التنمية الاقتصادية

تأسس بنك الكويت الوطني العام 1952 ليكون أول مصرف وطني في دولة الكويت ومنطقة الخليج العربي. ومنذ تأسيسه كأول بنك محلي في دولة الكويت الناشئة، احتل موقعًا رياديًا بين أقرانه في القطاع المصرفي في المنطقة. ويسعى بنك الكويت الوطني جاهدًا للحفاظ على موقعه الريادي في السوق المصرفية في مجال تقديم الخدمات المصرفية للشركات والخدمات المصرفية الشخصية والخاصة، وتوسيع نطاق خدماتنا وتعزيز تواجدنا الجغرافي بطرق توفر تقديم الخدمات بشكل أفضل لعملائنا.

دعم النمو الاقتصادي والتنمية

تماشيًا مع غايتنا في دعم النمو الاقتصادي للكويت، كان بنك الكويت الوطني ومازال في طليعة الجهات الممولة لمشاريع تطوير البنية التحتية الخاصة بالحكومة الكويتية والتي تقع ضمن نطاق خطة التنمية الوطنية لدولة الكويت، حيث يقدم التمويل اللازم للمشروعات الحكومية العملاقة منها على سبيل المثال مشروع محطة الزور الشمالية لإنتاج الطاقة الكهربائية وتحلية المياه وغيرها من مشاريع الـ BOT مثل توسعة محطة الصليبية لمعالجة مياه الصرف الصحي.  كما يساعد بنك الكويت الوطني في تمويل مشاريع الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص ومشروعات توسع الشركات.

يلعب بنك الكويت الوطني دورًا رئيسيًا كشريك مالي في المشاريع الكبرى المتعلقة بالاستدامة. وتتضمن المشروعات الجاري تنفيذها في مجال التنمية أعمال تطوير مصفاة الوقود البيئي ومشاريع الطاقة الشمسية، مشروع تحويل النفايات إلى طاقة باستخدام المحارق، محطات تحلية مياه البحر، توفير الوحدات السكنية وإنشاء المستشفيات.

مشروع الوقود البيئي

قام بنك الكويت الوطني خلال العام وبالتعاون مع عدد من البنوك المحلية الأخرى، بتنسيق، هيكلة وترتيب قرض بقيمة 1.2 مليار دينار كويتي لتزويد شركة البترول الوطنية الكويتية بالتمويل اللازم لمشروعهم الاستراتيجي المعروف باسم الوقود البيئي.  وينطوي المشروع، الذي يعد جزءًا من خطة التنمية الاقتصادية لدولة الكويت والبالغة 99.3 مليار دولار أميركي، على أعمال ربط وتحديث وتوسعة اثنتان من أكبر المصافي في الشرق الأوسط، وهما مصفاتي ميناء عبدالله وميناء الأحمدي.

خدمة العملاء

منذ تأسيسه، يُعرف بنك الكويت الوطني بأنه "البنك الذي تعرفه وتثقُ به". وتشكل عملية تقديم الخدمات عالية الجودة ركيزة أساسية في احتلال بنك الكويت الوطني لمكانته المرموقة في السوق المحلية وتحقيق النمو في المنطقة والعالم، بالإضافة إلى كونها جزءًا لا يتجزأ من طريقة إدارة أعمالنا اليومية.

رضا العملاء

يتفانى موظفو بنك الكويت الوطني في عملهم لضمان تحقيق رضا العملاء في كل قطاع من قطاعات أعمالنا ولتلبية مستوى توقعاتهم وحتى تجاوزها. وبشكل عام، حصل بنك الكويت الوطني على معدلات ممتازة في استطلاعات رضا العملاء: 91 % في مجموعة الخدمات المصرفية للأفراد في الكويت، 90 % في مجموعة الخدمات المصرفية الخاصة، 91 % في مجموعة الخدمات المصرفية للشركات و 90 % في بنك الكويت الوطني - مصر.

تسهيل الحصول على الخدمات المصرفية

يقوم بنك الكويت الوطني بتطوير الخدمات بشكل أكثر فاعلية لتلبية احتياجات كافة عملائنا. واستنادًا إلى تعليمات وتوجيهات بنك الكويت المركزي بتوفير خدمات مصرفية للعملاء من ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة في كل محافظة، فقد أطلقنا مبادرات من أجل تسهيل حصول ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة على الخدمات المصرفية في عدد من فروعنا آخذين في الحسبان جميع أشكال الإعاقة لتكون لدينا فروعاً صديقة لهم.

الحوكمة

تحرص مجموعة بنك الكويت الوطني على الإلتزام بأعلى معايير الحوكمة المسؤولة والأخلاقية فضلاً عن التقيّد بالشفافية والنزاهة في ممارسات واتصالات الإدارة. ووفقاً لذلك، فقد قمنا بتوثيق ونشر كلٍ من هيكل

وإطار وسياسات الحوكمة سعياً نحو عملية تواصل أكثر شفافية مع الأطراف المعنية. 

أهم الإنجازات في العام 2016

استطاعت المجموعة خلال العام 2016 تحقيق العديد من الإنجازات فيما يتعلق بالتطوير المستمر لمنظومة الحوكمة، ويمكن تلخيص ذلك فيما يلي:

  • مراجعة وتطوير سياسات ومواثيق الحوكمة وفقًا لأفضل الممارسات المعمول بها، فضلًا  عن القوانين واللوائح المعمول بها والمتبعة في دولة الكويت إلى جانب متطلبات الجهات الرقابية في الدول الأخرى التي تعمل بها المجموعة 
  • تطوير وتطبيق حزمة من النظم الآلية الحديثة في مجال الإلتزام الرقابي، المخاطر التشغيلية، قانون الإلتزام الضريبي الأميركي (فاتكا) ومكافحة غسل الأموال وتمويل الإرهاب
  • تقييم مدى فعالية تطبيق منظومة الحوكمة وتطويرها داخل كيانات المجموعة من خلال توفير الدعم ومراقبة وحدات الحوكمة في الشركات التابعة لمساعدتهم في إدارة شؤون مجلس إدارة الشركات التابعة واللجان المنبثقة عنه 
  • عقد وتنظيم العديد من الدورات التوعوية على مستوى كافة موظفي المجموعة حول تطبيقات الحوكمة وغيرها من المتطلبات الرقابية الأخرى
  • التطوير المستمر لنظام إعداد تقارير الحوكمة على نطاق المجموعة
  • الالتزام بقواعد هيئة أسواق المال المتعلقة بحوكمة الشركات، ويتضح هذا الأمر جلياً من خلال وجود شركتي الوطني للاستثمار (إن بي كيه كابيتال) وشركة الوطني للوساطة المالية ضمن قائمة الشركات العشر الأوائل من حيث تلبية واستيفاء جميع متطلبات وشروط هيئة أسواق المال

 

 

احترام وتطوير الموظفين

يؤمن بنك الكويت الوطني بأن الموظفين الأكفاء والملتزمين هم أحد العوامل الهامة للبناء والحفاظ على ولاء العملاء وتقديم خدمات مميزة. كما يقوم موظفونا بتطوير عروض منتجاتنا وخدماتنا الجديدة لتلبية الاحتياجات المتغيرة للعملاء. إن أعمال ومساهمات موظفينا تمكن البنك من حماية وتعزيز موقعنا الريادي في السوق المصرفية وبناء علامتنا التجارية وتعزيز سمعتنا في المجتمع.

 

التدريب والتطوير

في العامين 2015 و 2016 ، ازداد بشكل ملحوظ استثمار واهتمام بنك الكويت الوطني بتدريب وتطوير الموظفين عما كان عليه الحال في السنوات الماضية. وقد بلغت قيمة استثمارات بنك الكويت الوطني في مجال التدريب والتطوير قرابة 1.25 مليون دينار كويتي و 1.3 مليون دينار كويتي في العامين 2015 و 2016على التوالي. ويقدم مركزنا المتطور للتدريب الإرشاد والتثقيف للموظفين في مجال خدمة العملاء، تطوير الحلول المالية، إدارة المخاطر والحوكمة، بالإضافة إلى مناهج التعليم التقنية.

 

التنوع / تكافؤ الفرص

 

يلتزم بنك الكويت الوطني بتبني مبدأ التنوع وتكافؤ الفرص داخل مراكز عملنا. وعلى عكس غالبية المؤسسات، فإن أكثر القضايا الجوهرية بالنسبة لنا هي القضية المتعلقة بالتنوع والمتمثلة في زيادة نسبة العمالة الكويتية بين قوانا العاملة. وكما هو موضح في الرسم أدناه، بلغت نسبة الموظفين الكويتيين في بنك الكويت الوطني 66.4 % من إجمالي الموظفين. ويمتلك بنك الكويت الوطني برامج تهدف إلى زيادة هذه النسبة.

 

إشراك الموظفين

إن مشاركة وولاء وتحفيز الموظفين واستعدادهم لبذل جهد يفوق حدود إن مشاركة وولاء وتحفيز الموظفين واستعدادهم لبذل جهد يفوق حدود الوصف لوظائفهم، هي عوامل لا تؤثر فقط على تجربتهم ومناخ عمل جميع من يعمل في بنك الكويت الوطني، لا بل تؤثر كذلك على رضا العملاء وأداء الأعمال بشكل عام.

وإدراكًا لهذه الجدوى الاقتصادية لدعم الموظفين وخلق بيئة عمل إيجابية، فقد أطلق بنك الكويت الوطني برنامج أنا الوطني في شهر أبريل من العام 2012 على مستوى مجموعة الخدمات المصرفية الشخصية، ثم على مستوى المؤسسة ككل في شهر يونيو من العام 2014 . ويركز برنامج أنا الوطني على إشراك كل موظف بجعله يعيش قيمنا ويتعاون في خدمة العملاء.

 

حقوق الإنسان والعمالة

فيما يتعلق بعملياتنا الداخلية والمشاريع التي نستثمر فيها، يلتزم بنك الكويت الوطني باللوائح المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان، مثل حقوق السكان الأصليين والتأثير على الشعوب والمجتمعات الأصلية، حماية صحة الإنسان، حماية التراث الثقافي، الصحة والسلامة المهنية، حقوق إعادة التوطين القسرية وإشراك ومشاركة أصحاب المصلحة. كما نمتثل لجميع القوانين المتعلقة بعمل الأطفال والعمل القسري، والحرية النقابية والمفاوضة الجماعية، وعدم التمييز.

البيئة

إن ارتقاءنا بمبادرات الاستدامة إلى المستوى التالي وتعزيز جهودنا لتحسين التأثير البيئي لعملياتنا، قد ساهم في انتقال بنك الكويت الوطني إلى مؤسسة ذات أثر كربوني منخفض وذلك بما يتوافق مع مبادئ خط الإستواء وهو ما أكسبنا دفعة كبيرة.

المبنى الرئيسي لبنك الكويت الوطني المصمم وفق معايير LEED الذهبية

يوشك المبنى الرئيسي الجديد لبنك الكويت الوطني والذي صمم وفق معايير LEED الذهبية في مدينة الكويت على الانتهاء. وفيما يلي بعض سمات الاستدامة لديه:

 

  • تحسين أداء الطاقة بما يقارب 40 %
  • توفير ما يقارب 30 % من استهلاك المياه داخل المقر 
  • معدل تحويل مخلفات البناء 50 % كحد أدنى
  • مساحة داخلية مفتوحة 80 %
  • أسقف خضراء
  • إعادة تدوير مياه الصرف داخل الموقع بنسبة لا تقل عن 10 % من إجمالي مياه الصرف 

مبادرات الاستدامة البيئية الداخلية

لدى بنك الكويت الوطني العديد من المبادرات البيئية مثل إعادة تدوير الورق، توفير الطاقة عن طريق إطفاء الأنوار في الفروع خلال عطلة نهاية الأسبوع، استخدام معدات توفير الطاقة، توفير الطاقة المستخدمة في تكييف الهواء والإضاءة، -الانتقال إلى النظام الرقمي بدلاً من الوثائق والمراسلات الورقية، ترشيد استهلاك الموارد مثل أحبار المعاد تدويرها، الحد من وسائل النقل من خلال النقل المشترك بين مباني البنك وتعيين الموظفين بالقرب من مساكنهم. 

 

متطلبات تقييم التأثير البيئي والاجتماعي التي تخضع لها المشروعات التي يمولها بنك الكويت الوطني

يلتزم بنك الكويت الوطني التزامًا تامًا بلوائح الهيئة العامة للبيئة، داخليًا )على سبيل المثال في بناء مقرنا الجديد(، وكذلك في المشاريع التي يستثمر فيها البنك. يجب على المشاريع أن تكون ملتزمة بلوائح وزارة الكهرباء والماء وبرنامج الحفاظ على الطاقة، حسبما تقتضي الحالة. 

ويدرك بنك الكويت الوطني أن الاستثمار المسؤول يتطلب تقييم المخاطر المرتبطة بالتأثيرات البيئية والاجتماعية، ويلتزم بتضمين اعتبارات الاستدامة هذه عند تقييم مخاطر الاستثمار الخاص بنا واتخاذ القرارات بشكل عام.

 

المجتمع

يعتز بنك الكويت الوطني بتاريخه العريق في خدمة المجتمع، فقد كنا دوماً بمثابة النموذج الذي يحتذى به في مجال المسؤولية بدولة الكويت. وأظهرنا التزامنا فيما يتعلق بالمسؤولية الاجتماعية على مدار عقود، تمثل ذلك على وجه التحديد من خلال تقديم الدعم لقطاعات الرعاية الصحية والبرامج التعليمية التي تهدف إلى تطوير مستويات الشباب الكويتي من ذوي المهارات والمبادرات المتعلقة بالأنماط الحياتية التعليمية والصحية.

الأركان الأربعة الرئيسية لمساهماتنا المجتمعية

نسعى من خلال مساهماتنا المجتمعية إلى التركيز على أربعة أركان رئيسية: التنمية الإجتماعية، رعاية الأطفال، الصحة والتنمية البيئية.

كما تمكنا عبر تاريخنا الطويل من وضع بصمات ثابتة في المساهمات الاجتماعية أبرزها •مستشفى بنك الكويت الوطني للأطفال، مبادرة "أحلم أن أكون"،  •سباق بنك الكويت الوطني للمشي السنوي وتنظيف الشواطئ.

نبذة عن مبادراتنا الإجتماعية

في العام 2016، قدم بنك الكويت الوطني العديد من المساهمات، أبرزها:

  • أول مركز متخصص بالخلايا الجذعية للأطفال
  • دعم التعليم 
  • حملة كوني واعية للتوعية من سرطان الثدي 
  • حملة التبرع بالدم 
  • إصدار كتاب "عبدالله ينتصر" للأطفال دعماً لمرضى السرطان
  • توزيع أكثر من 1,000 وجبة إفطار يومياً خلال شهر رمضان
  • دعم جمعية الهلال الأحمر الكويتية
  • دعم مؤسسة لوياك
  • دعم أنشطة حديقة الشهيد
  • دعم الأندية الطلابية في الجامعات والمعاهد

 

الخلاصة

بشكل عام، تجاوز حجم انفاق بنك الكويت الوطني على مبادرات المسؤولية الاجتماعية أكثر من 170 مليون دينار كويتي خلال العقدين الماضيين، وتضمن ذلك المساهمات السنوية لمؤسسة الكويت للتقدم العلمي وتوظيف وتطوير الشباب الكويتي.

تقارير الاستدامة

أحدث تقارير الاستدامة

Notifications

  • No new notifications

     

Sustainability

Sustainability

Towards A More Comprehensive View of sustainability

Leadership Commitment

 “On behalf of the board and our employees, it is my great pleasure to announce the launch of the National Bank of Kuwait’s (NBK) first Sustainability Report. We have taken a step-leap forward in assessing and describing our sustainability and corporate social responsibility-related impacts, policies, strategies, and improvement programs and initiatives.

In addition to providing superb financial services, we strive relentlessly to bring about measurable economic, social, and environmental benefits to our region. We have dedicated ourselves to fueling innovation, human development and economic prosperity, protecting our environment and people through numerous social initiatives, and working to build healthy communities.

NBK will continue to meet increasing demands for change and transformation. We are implementing technological advancements in our products and services to capture growth opportunities in emerging markets. Along with bank growth, we are pursuing strategies to weave sustainability into our product and service offerings and our overall governance policies and practices. We fully recognize that our stakeholders now expect this integration of sustainability.”

Nasser Musaed Al-Sayer
Chairman of the Board of Directors
Chairman of the Bank and the Community Committee

Evolution of NBK Sustainability-Related Reporting and Disclosure

NBK’s governance practices and financial performance have been covered in NBK’s Annual Reports since our incorporation 65 years ago. Since 2008, NBK has also published an annual Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Report. In the past, these CSR reports focused primarily on our community giving initiatives in Kuwait, while also highlighting our key environmental programs. We now release this 2016 NBK Sustainability Report as a new approach to our reporting of a wider range of sustainability-related impacts, issues and opportunities of interest to our stakeholders.

Our Stakeholders and Material Issues

NBK’s key stakeholders include employees, customers, investors, communities, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), industry and sector bodies, suppliers, regulators and governments. In defining the material issues of concern for NBK, we benchmarked sustainability leaders and competitors in our region, examined leading sustainability indices and raters globally and in the MENA region, and reviewed the Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) Financial Sector guidelines.

NBK is Now Taking a New Approach to Sustainability

Our stakeholders increasingly expect banking and financial services firms to integrate environmental, social and economic sustainability considerations into risk management and investment choices, product and service offerings, management of resource consumption and emissions, human resource development, safety and wellbeing, community engagement, governance policies and practices and ESG disclosure and reporting. NBK is committed to proactively evolving our sustainability policies and practices, more thoroughly reporting on our impact and management policies and practices, better communicating what we are already doing, and vigorously meeting these changing conditions and more rigorous expectations.

Economic Development

In 1952, NBK started as the first private indigenous bank in Kuwait and the Arabian Gulf region. Since our founding as the first local bank in the emerging country of Kuwait, the National Bank of Kuwait (NBK) has held a leadership position in the Gulf region’s banking sector. NBK strives to maintain a market leadership position in providing corporate, consumer and private banking services, and to expand our impact and geographic reach in ways that better serve our customers.

Supporting Economic Growth and Development

In alignment with our objective to support the economic growth of Kuwait, NBK Group is leading the financing of the Kuwait government’s infrastructure development projects within Kuwait’s National Development Plan. NBK provided financing for government mega projects, such as the Al-Zour North IWPP and other Build Operate Transfer concessions (BOT Projects), such as expansion of Sulaibiya Waste Water Treatment plant. NBK also helps finance Public-Private-Partnership (PPP) projects and corporate expansion projects.

NBK is increasingly playing a primary role as financial partner in major sustainability-related projects. Projects already underway and in development phase include the clean fuels refinery upgrades, solar energy projects, a waste-to-energy incinerator, sea water desalination plants, housing provision, and hospital construction.

Clean Fuels Project

During the year, NBK coordinated, structured and arranged KWD 1.2 billion, financing from local banks for the strategic Clean Fuel Project of Kuwait National Petroleum Company (KNPC). The project, which is part of Kuwait’s USD 99.3 billion economic development plan, involves integration, modernization, and expansion of two of the Middle East’s largest refineries, Mina Abdulla and Mina Al-Ahmadi.

Serving Customers

Since our founding NBK has been known as ‘The Bank You Know and Trust.’ Delivering the highest quality service has been foundational to NBK’s dominant position in the local market and growth in the region and beyond, and is integral to how we manage our business day to day.

Customer Satisfaction

NBK employees work hard to ensure customers’ experiences in every segment of our business, meet and exceed their expectations. Overall, NBK receives excellent customer satisfaction ratings: 91% in retail banking in Kuwait, 90% in Private Banking, 91% in corporate banking services and 90% in NBK Egypt.

Access to Banking

NBK is actively developing services to meet the special needs of our customers. Based on the Central Bank of Kuwait (CBK) mandate to provide services to customers with special needs at one branch per governorate, specific branches have been identified to service customers with physical disabilities, visual impairments and hearing difficulties.

Governance

NBK Group is committed to the highest standard of responsible and ethical corporate governance, and to transparency and integrity in our management practices and communications. Accordingly we have documented and published our Corporate Governance Structure, Framework and Policies in an effort to communicate them more openly to interested parties.

Key Accomplishments in 2016

During 2016, the Group achieved a number of key accomplishments in our corporate governance, including:

  • Reviewed and developed the governance policies and charters in accordance with international practices, applicable rules and regulations issued in Kuwait and supervisory authorities in other countries where the Group operates
  • Developed and implemented new automated systems for compliance, operational risk, Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (U.S.A), Anti-Money Laundering, combating financing of terrorism 
  • Evaluated the effectiveness of orporate Governance implementation and development across the Group through providing support and monitoring to governance units at the subsidiaries to help them manage Board and committee affairs at the subsidiaries
  • Organized awareness sessions for employees across the Group regarding corporate governance implementation and other regulatory requirements 
  • Advanced continuous development to the Corporate Governance reporting system across the Group 
  • Complied with Capital Markets Authority regulations concerning Corporate Governance, with Watani Investment Company (NBK Capital) and Watani Financial Brokerage Company being ranked in the top (10) companies list that fulfill all the CMA requirements  

 

RESPECTING & DEVELOPING PEOPLE

NBK recognizes that competent and committed employees are absolutely critical to building and maintaining customer loyalty and providing quality service. Additionally, employees develop our new product and service offerings to meet the volving needs of customers. Their work and contribution enables NBK to protect and grow our strong market position, build our brand, and enhance our reputation in the community.

Training & Development

In 2015 and 2016, NBK’s investment and attention to employee training and development increased significantly from previous years. NBK invested approximately KWD 1.25 million and KWD 1.3 million in Training and Development in 2015 and 2016 respectively. Our state-of-the-art training center guides and educates employees in customer service and developing financial solutions, risk and compliance, and technical learning.

 

Diversity/Equal Opportunity

NBK is committed to embracing diversity and equal opportunity in our workplace. For us, unlike most organizations, the most material diversity-related issue is increasing the percentage of Kuwaiti nationals in our workforce. As indicated in the chart below, in 2016, 66.4% of NBK’s workforce was Kuwaiti. NBK has programs aimed at increasing this percentage.

Engaging Employees

Employee engagement, loyalty, motivation, willingness to put in extra effort beyond their job description – all of these impact not only employees’ experience and the work climate for all of NBK, but customer satisfaction and business performance overall.

Recognizing this business rationale for supporting employees and creating a positive work environment led NBK to launch the ‘I AM NBK’ program in April 2012 in the Consumer Banking Group, and then organization-wide in June 2014. Our I AM NBK program focuses on engaging every employee in living our values and collaborating in serving customers.

Labor Rights and Human Rights

In both internal operations and for the projects in which we invest, NBK adheres to regulations on human rights, such as indigenous rights and impacts on indigenous peoples and communities, protection of human health, protection of cultural properties, occupational health and safety, rights around involuntary resettlement, stakeholder engagement and participation. We are compliant with all laws regarding child and forced labor, freedom of association, collective bargaining, and non-discrimination.

 

Environment

By taking sustainability initiatives to the next level and strenghthening our efforts to improve the environmental footprint of our operations, NBK’s transition to a low-carbon bank that complies with the Equator Principles has gained significant momentum.

NBK's New LEED-Gold Headquarters Building

NBK’s new LEED-Gold Headquarters Building in Kuwait City is nearing  completion.  Some of the sustainability design attributes are:

  • Approx. 40% energy performance enhancement
  • Approx. 30% savings in indoor water use
  • Min. 50% construction waste diversion rates
  • 80% site open space
  • Green Roofs
  • Onsite Grey water recycling fulfilling minimum of 10% of total flushing demand

Internal Environmental Sustainability Initiatives

Within our operations, NBK has many environmental initiatives to recycle paper, shut off lights in branches over weekends, use power saving equipment, saving power used in air conditioning and lighting, digital documents, recycled toners, reducing transportation through staff assignment and shuttles.   

Environmental and Social Impact Assessment Requirements Met by NBK-Financed Projects

NBK is fully compliant with the EPA’s regulations, both internally (for example in our new Headquarters Building) and also for projects in which NBK invests. Projects are compliant with the Ministry of Electricity and Water’s regulations and energy conservation program, as relevant.
NBK recognizes responsible investment requires assessing risks associated with environmental and social impacts, and is committed to incorporating these sustainability considerations into our investment risk assessment and decision making more generally.

Community

NBK is well known for our strong history of social contribution to the community, and we have traditionally served as a model for Corporate Social Responsibility in Kuwait. Over many years we have demonstrated our commitment to CSR, in particular by supporting healthcare, educational programs aimed at developing Kuwait’s skilled youth, and community educational and healthy lifestyles initiatives.

Our Four Community Contribution Pillars

NBK’s community contribution focuses on Four Primary Pillars: Social Development, Children’s Care, Health, and Environmental Development.

Over the years we have also developed several ‘signature’ NBK community contributions, such as NBK Children’s Hospital, "I Dream to Be" initiatives, Walkathon, and Beach Clean-Ups.

Highlights of Our 2016 Community Initiatives

In 2016 NBK contributed to the following community initiatives:

  • First Children’s Bone Marrow Transplant Center in Kuwait 
  • Support Education
  • Be Aware Campaign for Breast Cancer Awareness Month
  • Blood Donation
  • "Abdullah Wins" Storybook for Sick Children
  • Distributed More Than 1,000 Iftar Meals Daily During the  Month of Ramadan
  • Support KRCS
  • Support Loyac
  • Cultural support: Al Shaheed Park
  • Support Student Clubs in Universities and Colleges 

 

In Sum

Overall, NBK’s spending on Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) initiatives exceeded KWD 170 million during the last two decades, including annual contributions to the Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences (KFAS) and the recruitment and development of Kuwaiti youth.

Sustainability Reports

Latest Sustainability Reports